A New Experience…

So, this weekend I am in Bar Harbor Maine. I will be partaking in the Mount Desert Island Marathon. I have never been much of a runner, (I’ve never really seen the point of running for hours)  however,  if you give me a basketball I can play for hours.
My mother originally signed up a three person relay team to run the event. Unfortunately, my mother contracted Lyme’s disease and was unable to train or run her portion of the marathon. I received a phone call at the end of August, she asked me if I would consider replacing her. I didn’t really commit until until the beginning of September. Since then I have been jogging/walking 7-9 miles about 2 to 3 times a week. It has been the most I have EVER run in my LIFE. I have to say that I have enjoyed the solitude of the treadmill in the late evening and early morning. So, when the run is over. I just my continue this trend I have started.

image

5 thoughts on “A New Experience…”

  1. Don’t train – just run and wait for your second wind to kick in…and the third…fourth….LOL – I have to say, I admire and respect your loyalty/dedication – had I been in your shoes, I would have said, “Is there a charity I can donate time/money too in lieu of running in your place? Pleaaasssseee say Yes” LOL

Leave a Reply

