Pie Auction

Today I went to a school fundraiser where they were auctioning off baked goods. As a general rule, I avoid buying anything at these things. I’m just not that rich.

OK, we need to back up. When I was a student at this same one room school house, the very same people who donated baked goods tonight were the moms of my classmates. Some of my favorite memories are of the food they used to make.

We used to go out into the country and see this lady who would feed us perogies and introduced us to ethnicity and massive amounts of butter and nicely boiled dough. I would run in and grab them off the tray before they were offered to anyone else and eat them while tossing them hot-potato style from one hand to the other they were so hot. I see her at church still but she didn’t bring anything to the auction although a batch of those would have drawn me to empty my bank account in a bidding war.

Corinne used to make this awesome nachos sauce that we basically wanted to bathe in. We drank it like juice when the chips were gone and unlike the nachos you get at some concession stand, you ALWAYS had enough sauce for the chips. It was amazing and perfect and I still dream about it. Corinne was sitting behind and to the left of me and she brought a giant plate of cookies that I drooled over. However, I didn’t bid. There was something even more enticing.

Darlene is the grandmother of one of the kids from my own childhood. She had a hole in the wall diner were I was first introduced to the breakfast burrito and PIE! I was never much of a pie girl until Darlene. She makes the best pies in the world and at 8 years old, I let cake go as my favorite thing in the world and started craving PIE – specifically lemon meringue and coconut cream pie. I still dream about her pie.

And there she was – Darlene. She doesn’t have the diner any more but she came to the auction anyway with TWO AMAZING COCONUT CREAM PIES! I actually let the first one go just to gauge what the competition was going to be. Then after many other items had been bid on (including my mom’s custom pumpkin spice cake made to look like a pumpkin with mice burrowing out that went for $80) and people were starting to wear down and run out of money, up came the last pie.

I’m not much for bidding. I’m not big on ebay and I’ve never been to any other kind of auction accept these school bake sale types but that pie… needless to say, I was all over it. But I wasn’t alone. There were a few other bidders set on having this particular pie. So I stooped low and used my five year old as a bidding paddle and she was all cute and made everyone feel bad for bidding against her. Still, it took some serious fighting and a very high bid on the pie to get my prize. I took it home, the girls having a wonderful time anticipating a taste of mommy’s favorite desert. They took a few bites and were done. They didn’t like it!

SCORE! More for me.

4 thoughts on “Pie Auction”

Leave a Reply

