Cake?

Those who know me may have asked me, “Are you planning on having more kids?” And they would inevitably get the standard answer, “Hell no. I just got those ones house trained. I don’t think I could do it again.”

Have you ever been in your cubicle at work and someone asked, “What’s something you would REALLY want on your birthday?”

Of course you would answer, “Macaroni and cheese with green chili’s and a giant margarita.”

“But what about cake?”

“Eh, my mom makes cakes and we have cake alot. It’s ok but… I want mac and cheese.”

Then someone else pops their head in your cubicle and says, “Hey, it’s Don’s birthday and there’s cake in the conference room…”

Suddenly you realize that you’ve been avoiding cake because of the fact that for two years you had a lot of cake and got a bit burned out on cake and now all you can think about is cake. Specifically that cake in the conference room and whether its your mom’s custom made cake or a Walmart special with a printed photo of Don, you want a piece of that cake! It only took cake being available in the conference room to make you think, “Hmmmm… cake. I think I’ll try it again.”

Yep, the other day, I took a pregnancy test and there was the cake, right on that little stick saying, “I’m in the oven, whether you like it or not. Cake is here. You want it don’t you?”

Yep.

6 thoughts on “Cake?”

  1. I love it! I had to laugh about the house training part of life and am wishing you the best cake there is. I will be following along both here, and Facebook, to see what you are up to. I look forward to reading more! If you have the time and interest (how could you??) I would love if you checked out my blog of kids projects at Kartwheels. Have a most amazing day!
    Karen
    http://kartwheels.org/

  2. Interesting analogy. This little cake-y will be with you a LOT longer than the treat in the conference room. And will bring you so much more love and joy than the empty calories of any sweet cake in the world. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

